Introducing... This Year's Award-Winners

Nominated by you, the community, here are the recipients of the three awards we will be handing out at Transition Sarasota's Year-End Extravaganza this Friday night. Each award-winner will have a few minutes to speak at the event, so come hear what these remarkable local leaders have to say.

Community Catalyst of the Year: Glen Gibellina

While Glen was nominated for his critical role in bringing a Remote Area Medical pop-up clinic to Manatee County last month that provided free medical care to 800 low-income and uninsured residents, he has proven himself as a tireless and inspirational leader in many other ways as well. Glen's interest in permaculture has also made him a champion for a 19-acre "food forest" near Pinellas Park and a regular volunteer for Transition Sarasota's own Suncoast Gleaning Project.

Volunteer of the Year: Malory Foster

Though Malory only moved to Sarasota three short years ago, she has already made her presence felt in a big way. In addition to serving as Farm to School Coordinator for Sarasota County Schools and being involved with edible school gardens at Bay Haven and Gocio Elementary, Malory has been an insightful and energetic member of Transition Sarasota's core leadership team for over a year now. The success of this year's Eat Local Week is thanks to her as much as anyone else.

Living Legacy Award: Peace Education & Action Center

This new award was created specifically to honor the Peace Education & Action Center for their extraordinary support of Transition Sarasota over the past five years. Beyond acting as a fiscal sponsor for the organization during this time, the Peace Center's Board of Directors (currently: Arlene Sweeting, David Beaton, Billy Wetherington, and Bob Connors) have provided valuable guidance and a home in the form of Fogartyville Community Media & Arts Center, which they created and continue to manage.